The final two races in the 2021 Kumho BMW Championship were at Oulton Park in Cheshire on the full International Circuit. The format was, as is normal at Oulton, all on one day with early qualifying followed by two races during the day. Following foul weather for testing on the Friday, Saturday dawned dryish with the promise of sun later in the day.

A number of drivers were absent due to a clash with a team race at Silverstone but the main championship contenders were all present with Darren Morgan Owen the only driver able to mathematically overtake Kevin Denwood for the overall championship. Brad Sheehan was hoping to pip Darren for Class A, while James Card, Michael Vitulli & Jason West were also hoping to end the season with a good haul of Class A points. Jeff Nixon & Peter Miller had both overcome difficult seasons to be present & we had two Mini’s representing the BMW fwd brigade with Daniel Butcher-Lord joined by debutante Steve Kite. Also present was Paul Brooker after recovering from surgery and back preparing the fantastic food available throughout the weekend to all our racers, mechanics, family & sundry hangers-on, thanks Paul!

Qualifying took place in the damp with a number of drivers initially going out on treaded tyres to get a “banker” lap before changing to slicks. Sadly Michael Vitulli’s raceday was brought to an end by a trip into the tyre wall caused by an intermittent power outage. The damage caused was irreparable in the time available, so that was the end of Michael’s season. James Card was one driver to go the treaded then slicks route & took pole. Jason West was alongside him, followed by Class A protagonists Brad Sheehan & Darren Morgan Owen. Dan was 5th in the first of the minis alongside champion elect Kevin Denwood. Steve Kite & Mike Pensavalle made up the 4th row, followed by Trevor Ford & Stuart Pywell rounding out the top ten.

From the start, James took the lead under constant pressure from Jason who finally managed to take the lead with a couple of laps to go, only for James to retake it on the last lap. Brad finished 3rd with Darren finishing a distant 4th, reducing his point’s deficit to 2. Kevin Denwood confirmed his 2021 status as overall champion, finishing 5th O/A ahead of Dan in the first of the Mini’s. Stuart Pywell was 7th & first in the Invitation Class with Steve Kite a creditable 8th, Trevor Ford 9th and Michael Pensavalle 10th, while Peter Miller had his mechanical gremlins return forcing another DNF.

The final race in this year’s championship was scheduled for immediately after lunch to leave time for the C1 enduro race, great!! Race 2 followed a similar course to the earlier race with James blasting off the line and leading from start to finish. Jason was unable to hold off Brad who was intent on taking the Class A championship and with Darren unable to match the pace of Jason the championship went to Brad by one point, with the sporting pedigree of the championship being evident with Darren being the first to offer his congratulations to Brad. Kevin finished 5th, ahead of Dan & Steve in their Mini’s, Stuart Pywell 8th and taking the Invitational Class again. Trevor & Mike P completed the top ten & Karl Jones managed 11th and 3rd in invitation class, all whilst spannering for Brad, a useful man to have as a friend!

In the championship, results were available shortly after the cars were released from Parc Ferme & showed that overall Kevin Denwood was champion and winner of Class B with Brad Sheehan & Darren Morgan Owen 2nd & 3rd O/A. Brad won Class A from Darren & James Card, while Trevor Ford & Peter Miller were 2nd & 3rd in Class B while Jeff Nixon is Class C Champion.

Huge congratulations must also go to regular Kumho competitors Russell Dack, Bryan Bransom, Paul Wood & Ben Mason who won Class B at the aforementioned Silverstone Relay Race and were the first all BMW team in 4th overall behind three teams of Radicals and 3rd overall on handicap!