•                                                 Thruxton 13-14 June Classes B-C-D

    Thruxton in Hampshire was the latest circuit to host the Kumho tyres BMW championship 2015 and it was on a cloudy morning but a dry track that 19 cars took to the track for a 15 minute qualifying session.Thruxton is the fastest circuit in the country. The total was made up of 5 class B cars and 6 class C cars with 5 class D cars and 3 cars in the invitational class.

    When the session ended it was an invitational class car that had posted the fastest time with Ray West (M3) 1:26.570 ahead of championship leader Ian Crisp (E36 M3) 1:27.472 and this was the leading class B car. Third fastest was Dave Heasman ( 328i saloon) 1:27.565 being the leading class C car on track ahead of Paul Travers (328i coupe)1:28.315 in 4th place and also in class C.Scott Noye (328i saloon)1:29.075 was in 5th place and the 2nd placed class B car with another invitational class car that of Kevin Willis (m3)1:29.107 next. Alan Thompson ( E36 328i) 1:30.013 in class C was next ahead of the 1st of the class D cars with Greg Marking (318 is)1:31.334 ahead of Douglas Simmen (E36 M3)1:31.725 with another class D car James Ford (318is)1:31.955 next.Adrian Gilbert (M3 E36) 1:33.328 in class B was just ahead of the last invitational class car on track of Rob Bennet ( 318is)1:34.960.THere was quite a large time difference to the next driver on track with Nigel Williams (M3)1:37.122 in class B ahead of Gareth Montgomery (323)1:37.912 for class D.Steve Samways (318is)1:38.789 in class D just ahead of another class D car Zoran Dimic (318is)1:41.179.Roland Jones (325 compact)1:41.752 in class D blew his engine during qualifying and the car would take no further part in the meeting.Mark Reardon (318is) 1:42.949 was the last of the class D cars with Peter  Miller (E36 M3)1:49.953 also having mechanical issues and stopping on track in his class C car.

    Sunday saw classes B-C-D revert back to normal and have there own race.A total of 17 cars went to the grid with the Crisp car not on the grid after the accident the day before. Glorious sunshine was the order of the day as the race started and the pack of BMW'S headed off on the 1st lap of there 20 minute race.At the end of the 1st lap it was West leading Noye.The race settled down with some good dicing between Noye & Travers.Heasman & Thompson were looking good in class C and the normal suspects Ford & Marking for class D.All of the cars were still running as the race was drawing to a close with the class D race having the biggest battle on track with there race lead constantly changing hands between Ford & Marking.Travers had got the better of Noye and was looking good for a fine finish.Thompson was leading the class Crace.The race ended after completing  14 laps in the allotted time and it was a race win double weekend for West taking the chequered flag ahead of Travers in class C and Noye for class B  in 3rd.Another invitation class car Wills took 4th overall with Thompson 5th taking the class C runners up spot ahead of Heasman in 6th.Simmen finished 7th overall and took runners up spot in class B and was the only other class B car to finish with Williams only completing 12 laps in the race.The class D race win went to Marking after finishing  8th overall just ahead of Ford with Samways taking 3rd in this class after his 11th place finish.A total of 16 cars finished the race.

    Fastest race laps for West invitation class (1:26.935) & Noye class B (1:27.544) & Travers class C (1:28.005) and Ford for class D (1:31.116).The time for Travers gives him a new lap record with an average speed of 96:37 MPH.

    Crisp is still leading the class B table with Thompson now leading class C and Marking class D.   


    West quickest in qualifying

    West winner of invitation class

    Travers winner class C 

    Noye winner class B

    Marking winner class D