• Brands Hatch 26-27 July Classes B-C-D

    Wins for Morgan-Owen & Salisbury


    With the class B-C-D cars competing on there own once again it was Brands Hatch Indy circuit providing the next test in the Kumho Tyres BMW championship 2014.

    A total of 12 cars took to the track comprising of 5 in class B,3 in class C & 4 in class D.With a nice dry track conditions were good for some good qualifying times.After the 20 minute session ended it was Robert Salisbury ( M3) leading the way in class B ahead of Darren Morgan-Owen ( E36 M3).Paul Travers ( 328i Coupe) was fastest in class C ahead of Dave Heasman ( 328i Saloon)In class D it was Greg Marking ( 318 is) ahead of James Ford ( 318 ti)The time of Salisbury was 54.574 which was an average speed of 79.68 MPH with Travers 55.551 & Marking 55.663 on the 1.2 mile circuit.

    The cars all came out on track for there 1st  race of the weekend later in the day which would be over 20 minutes.A good start by Salisbury and Morgan-owen as they led the pack of cars towards paddock hill bend.All of the cars made it safely around the circuit and the race was well and truly underway.Salisbury & Morgan-Owen were having a good tussle at the front of the race.The class D battle was between Marking & Ford with James Cannon (compact) also getting in on the act.Alan Thompson (E36 328i) was having a good duel with Heasman.Eventually  Morgan-Owen took advantage and got past Salisbury and was now leading the race.Heasman had a moment with Travers which made the back of Heasmsns car have a hanging bumper but he was able to continue but it put Travers out of the race.

    After 22 laps it was Morgan-Owen taking the chequered flag for his 1st race win of the season with Salisbury in 2nd and Domenic Surdi (M3) in 3rd place overall.Thompson took class C honours ahead of Heasman.Marking took the class D win ahead of Cannon.

    Fastest race laps for Morgan-Owen,Travers & Marking Travers establishing a new lap record in class C with his time of 55.313 with Marking also having a new lap record in class D with a time of 56.982.

    Sunday saw race 2 of the weekend for the class B-C-D cars with another 20 minute race.Another good start to the race by Salisbury & Morgan-Owen.Heasman took the lead in class C ahead of Travers who had fixed his car from the collision the previous day.fORD,Marking & Cannon were having the normal duel in class D.Salisbury & Morgan-Owen had a race long battle and it was Salisbury who took the race win after completing 22 laps by 0.66 seconds with Morgan-Owen 2nd and Surdi 3rd.Class C went to Heasman ahead of Travers.Marking took class D for  a race win double ahead of Cannon & Ford.

    Fastest race laps to Morgan-Owen,Travers &Marking.

    Salisbury is leading class B with Heasman ahead in class C & Marking in class D.

    A good weekend of racing for the Class B-C-D cars with some good action on track by all concerned.  


    Winner race 1 Darren Morgan-Owen

    Winner class C race 1 Alan Thompson

    Winner Class D race 1 Greg Marking

    Winner race 2 Robert Salisbury

    Winner class C race 2 Dave Heasman

    Winner class D race 2 Greg Marking